Call for Papers


Call for Papers for the XVI Brazilian Logic Conference (EBL 2011) including a session "Machines, from Turing to Quantum" dedicated to the celebration of the Centenary of Alan Turing's birth (1912-1954)

9-13 May 2011
Laboratório Nacional de Computação Científica - Petrópolis (RJ)

The Brazilian Logic Conference (EBL) is a traditional event on the agenda of several prominent researchers in Brazil and Latin America in the areas of Computer Science, Foundations and Philosophy of Science, Informatics, Artificial Intelligence, Logic and Mathematics.

Previous editions of the EBL have been a great success, attracting researchers from all over Latin America and elsewhere. The EBL has become an important meeting point and discussion forum for students and researchers interested in the interdisciplinary study of Logic.

In a total of five days about 10 plenary lectures and 70 original works will be presented, in up to three parallel sessions. In 2011, the EBL will also include a session "Machines, from Turing to Quantum", dedicated to the celebration of the Centenary of Alan Turing's birth (1912-1954).

In 2011, the EBL will be held at the National Laboratory for Scientific Computing (LNCC), at Petrópolis, Rio de Janeiro. The President of the Scientific Committee is Newton Carneiro Affonso da Costa (USP and CLE) and the Chairman of the Organizing Committee is Oswaldo Chateaubriand (PUC-Rio and CLE).

The goal of the EBL is to encourage the dissemination and discussion of research papers in the area of Logic and their interconnections with the areas of Computer Science, Foundations and Philosophy of Science, Informatics, Artificial Intelligence and Mathematics.

Topics include:

    Philosophical and Mathematical Logic, and Applications;
    History and Philosophy of Logic;
    Non-classical Logic and Applications;
    Philosophy of Formal Sciences;
    Foundations of Computer Science, Physics, and Mathematics, among others.

Invited speakers (confirmed)

Carlos Areces (INRIA Nancy Grand Est)
Carlos Caleiro (Department of Mathematics, TU Lisbon)
Gregory Chaitin (IBM Watson Research Center, UFRJ/HCTE)
Hans van Ditmarsch (Dept. of Logic, University of Sevilla)
Richard L. Epstein (Advanced Reasoning Forum)
Lou Goble (Department of Philosophy, Willamette University)
Carlos Di Prisco (Instituto Venezolano de Investigaciones Cienticas)
José Iovino (University of Texas at San Antonio)

The previous editions of this conference were held in Campinas (1977), Campinas (1978), Recife (1979), Campinas (1980), Campinas (1981), São José dos Campos (1983), Rio de Janeiro (1984), São José dos Campos (1986), São Paulo (1988), Itatiaia (1993), Salvador (1996), Itatiaia (1999), Campinas (2003), Itatiaia (2006), and Paraty (2008).

Logic School

Starting with EBL 2008, the conference includes a Logic School aimed at undergraduate and graduate students with interest in Logic and related fields, but also open to all interested parties. The Logic School will happen on 7-8 May 2011, at the Instituto de Matemática e Estatística of the Universidade Federal Fluminense (UFF), at Niterói, Rio de Janeiro.

In 2011 the following short courses will be offered:

1. Satisfiability and Probabilistic Satisfiability
Marcelo Finger (USP)

2. Foundations of Computerized Theorem Proving
João Marcos (UFRN)

3. Proof theory for contemporary logic by handling polinomials over finite fields
Walter Carnielli (UNICAMP)

4. The algebraic tradition of logic and some relational sistems
Leandro O. Suguitani (UNICAMP), Itala M. L. D'Ottaviano (UNICAMP), Petrucio Viana (UFF)

5. Tba, Oswaldo Chateaubriand (PUC-Rio)

For more information on courses and registration, please check the Logic School website at:

Program committee of the Logic School
Renata de Freitas (UFF)
Petrucio Viana (UFF)

Call for Papers

We invite submissions on the general topics of Logic. Submissions should be in Portuguese, Spanish or English, from 2 (two) to a maximum of 10 (ten) pages including a short abstract (maximum 20 lines) and references.

The author(s) should send a .pdf file by email to until January 31, 2011.

Papers may be presented in Portuguese, Spanish or English, within a time interval of 20 (exposure) + 10 (questions) minutes.

The Scientific Committee will consider the following items when selecting the accepted papers:

1. Relevance and importance of the topic;
2. Originality;
3. Quality of work;
4. Academic relevance of the author.

The list of accepted papers will be released on March 15, 2011. At least one author of each accepted paper must present the paper at the meeting.

ASL travel grants

Student members of the ASL may apply for travel grants to attend the XVI EBL. For more information, please check:

Scientific Committee

Newton Carneiro Affonso da COSTA (President) (CLE, USP, UFSC)
Mario Folhadela BENEVIDES (UFRJ)
Juliana BUENO-SOLER (UFABC/Santo André)
Xavier CAICEDO (CLE, Univ. de Los Andes)
Antonio Carlos da Rocha COSTA (FURG)
Alexandre COSTA-LEITE (UnB)
Marcelo FINGER (USP)
Edward Hermann HAEUSLER (PUC-Rio)
Ana Teresa de Castro MARTINS (UFC)
Maria da Paz Nunes de MEDEIROS (UFRN)
Francisco MIRAGLIA (USP)
Luiz Carlos PEREIRA (PUC-Rio, UFRJ)
Samuel Gomes da SILVA (UFBA)

Important Dates

Submission of papers: January 31, 2011 (deadline)

Notification: March 15, 2011

Registration of authors of accepted papers: April 09, 2011

Conference: May 09-13, 2011



Centro de Lógica, Filosofia e História da Ciência, UNICAMP
Departamento de Filosofia, Departamento de Informática, PUC-Rio
Instituto de Matemática e Estatística, UFF

Organizing Committee

Walter Carnielli (CLE, UNICAMP)
Oswaldo Chateaubriand (CLE, PUC-Rio) (Co-Chair)
Marcelo Correa (UFF)
Renata de Freitas (UFF)
Edward Hermann Haeusler (PUC-Rio)
Luiz Carlos Pereira (PUC-Rio, UFRJ)
Leonardo Vana (UFF)
Petrucio Viana (UFF) (Coordenador)
Anderson de Araújo (UNICAMP)
Hugo Nobrega (UFRJ)
Leandro Suguitani (UNICAMP)
Rafael Testa (UNICAMP)


Association for Symbolic Logic (ASL)
Brazilian Academy of Sciences - São Paulo Chapter
Brazilian Logic Society (SBL)
Turing Centenary Advisory Committee (TCAC)

© 2011 - XVI EBL - Brazilian Logic Conference / Logic School / May 7th – 13th, 2011 Contact us
Home | Description | Comittees | Program | Keynote Speakers | Turing Session | Call for papers | Submissions | Logic School | Registration | Proceedings | Touristic information

Siga o XVI EBL:
 Logotipo do You Tube Logotipo do Facebook Logotipo do Linkedin Logotipo Blog Logotipo do Twitter

Valid CSS!        CSS válido!       Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional